This website uses cookies and similar technologies to understand visitors' experiences. By continuing to use this website, you accept our use of cookies and similar technologies,Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.

Jan 22 2014 - 12:32 PM
Meet Alex P.
Hi! I'm Alex, a recent transplant to New York and one of the new Services Associates. I'm looking forward to helping you with your library and research questions this semester. If you need help finding images to use in your work, I'm especially interested in image resources, so come find me if you need help with that! Are you a Teachers College student, and, if so, what are you studying? I actually just started studying library & information science last semester at Pratt. I've worked as a cataloger before, so I'm excited to branch out into reference services. Where’s your hometown? Palo Alto, CA (also the home of Stanford University and Mark Zuckerberg) What did you want to be when you grew up? I started out wanting to be an artist, then spent most of elementary school wanting to be a geologist (that involved a lot of smashing rocks looking for geodes). I also cycled through the requisite marine biologist phase before realizing that fish gross me out. What was your first job? I worked as a barista and cake server at a Japanese-French bakery. What has been your worst job? Haven't had a bad one yet! Some have required a lot of driving or standing, but really no complaints. What has been your best job? That's tough, since all of my jobs have been interesting in their own way. I really loved working as an elementary school art teacher, and my last job as a photograph cataloger in Florence, Italy was a total dream (I worked with a collection I studied in undergrad). What do you remember about your first day of school? I don't think I really remember it…but photographic evidence suggests that I wore plaid. Your favorite meal: Pecorino and pear ravioli. Or, if we're talking type of meal, I'd go with breakfast (which I will happily eat at any time of day). Are you a morning or night person?: Definitely a night person (which is good because I sometimes work the closing shift!) A delicious dessert: I used to tell my parents I had a separate stomach for dessert. One of my favorites is graham cracker topped with peanut butter and vanilla gelato (seriously, try it). But really, any kind of gelato or sorbet (by the time I left Florence, I had compiled a list of over 30 gelato shops). Song you love no matter how many times you hear it: Never There by CAKE. A country you’d like to visit: Argentina A book you strongly recommend? I can't choose one, so two that I've recently enjoyed: Invisible Circus by Jennifer Egan and The Circle by Dave Eggers. A sport you enjoy playing (or watching)? Soccer TOP THREE…. Best places to read?
  1. In a coffee shop
  2. By a window in the library
  3. On the subway
Complete the Sentence The strangest thing I’ve ever done is…well, this isn't exactly something I've done, but some of the more surreal moments from when I lived in Italy involved stumbling upon parades of people in Renaissance costume. The most fascinating person I’ve ever met is…so I didn't actually meet him, but I did walk past Woody Allen a few months ago. That felt like a real New York moment.