This website uses cookies and similar technologies to understand visitors' experiences. By continuing to use this website, you accept our use of cookies and similar technologies,Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.

Sep 09 2021 - 07:55 PM
Meet Library Associate Rania!

Library Associate Rania

A question and answer (Q&A) format with Library Associate Rania! Continue reading to join the conversation.

Are you a Teachers College student, and, if so, what are you studying?

Yes! I am in my second and last year as a TC student in the Elementary Inclusive Education DUAL certification program.

Where’s your hometown?

I was born in Queens, but I was raised in Rockland County New York (by Westchester, NY). I am Palestinian, so my true hometown is a small village called Mizrah Sharkia by Ramallah in Palestine.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was younger, I went through phases of wanting to be a doctor then a veterinarian, but deep down I loved school (still do) and wanted to be a teacher.

What was your first job?

My first job was as a community assistant at ARC Rockland. The role was similar to a teaching role, however I was places in a classroom with older adults with disabilities. My overall role was to advocate for individuals with disabilities in my community.

What has been your best job?

Over this past summer I was a tutor at my local Huntington Learning Center. It was my favorite job because it provided me great experience with teaching students first-hand prior to my student teaching year. Although I was there for a short period of time, I was able to create strong connections with my students and co-workers.

Your favorite meal:

This is a hard question! I love food so much. I'm a big fan of Italian food (pasta is my comfort food), but I also love my mom's home made Palestinian dishes (maklouba, koofta tahnia, mansef).

Are you a morning or night person?:

This is a hard question! I believe myself to be a night person mostly due to the pandemic. My favorite thing to do in quarantine would be to watch movies and tv shows. Now that I started my student teaching year, I have to make myself into a morning person and be ready for the kiddos bright and early around 7:30 AM/ 8 AM.

A delicious dessert:

Ice cream! I love the classic flavors, the candy flavors, the fruit/sorbet flavors! Ice cream makes me so happy!

Song you love no matter how many times you hear it:

Anything Taylor Swift!

A country you’d like to visit:

I want to go visit my sister and nephew in Palestine.

A book you strongly recommend?

The Proudest Blue by Ibtihaj Muhammad. It's a children's book, but I think it is a great book about faith, bravery, and sibling love.

A sport you enjoy playing (or watching)?

Watching - Football, Soccer (futbal), and basketball!

Playing - Softball, Field Hockey, Fencing, Crew/Rowing

TOP THREE….Best places to read?

1)A hammock (if you're in a relaxing mood/if you have one), 2) the steps on CU's campus, 3) Gottesman Libraries!!

The strangest thing I’ve ever done is…

Sleep in a dessert. I was on a trip in Amman, Jordan and had the opportunity to sleep in a tent in the dessert on our way to Petra. It was strange because the tents were in the middle of nowhere and I wasn't really sure how we found the location.

The most fascinating person I’ve ever met is… 

My mama She is a one of a kind person. I learn so much from her, she makes me laugh, and her love is like no other.