This website uses cookies and similar technologies to understand visitors' experiences. By continuing to use this website, you accept our use of cookies and similar technologies,Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.

Oct 01 2021 - 04:24 PM
Library Associate - Tarun

A question and answer (Q&A) format with Library Associate Tarun! Continue reading to join the conversation.


Are you a Teachers College student, and, if so, what are you studying?

Yes! I am a first year student in the Masters in Applied Statistics program at Teachers College.

Where’s your hometown?

I am from India. I was born and brought up in a city called Aligarh in Uttar Pradesh State of India. 

What did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a pilot when I was younger which then changed to a scientist and many more over the course of time. It’s still changing at the age of 27.

What was your first job?

My first job was as a fellow at Teach For India. I taught students coming from underprivileged areas of Delhi.

What has been your best job?

My best job has been my Teach for India fellowship. I worked as a fellow for nearly 2 years and learnt a lot personally and professionally during that time. It changed me a lot as a person, for the better. I made lifelong relations with my colleagues and students. 

Your favorite meal:

I love kadi chawal ( a North Indian dish) and Dosa ( a South Indian dish).

Are you a morning or night person?:

I believe I am a night person. I am Ok waking up till late at night but struggle when it comes to waking up early.

A delicious dessert:

Gulab Jamun and Laddoo (Indian sweet dishes).

Song you love no matter how many times you hear it:

Bollywood 90s songs in acoustic version is something I can listen to any number of times.

A country you’d like to visit:

I would like to visit Switzerland (or any other that is as beautiful as this one).

A book you strongly recommend?

“The Book of Joy” written by the 14th Dalai Lama(Tenzin Gyatso), Desmond Tutu, and Douglas Carlton Abrams. 

A sport you enjoy playing (or watching)?

Not a sportsperson at all but I like to play Badminton, and watch cricket sometimes.

TOP THREE…Best places to read?

  1. Any place with a view of mountains 
  2. Any place with a view of river, 
  3. Any place with a scenic view.


The strangest thing I’ve ever done is…

I would say that the strangest thing I have ever done was an unplanned trip during my undergraduate. It would take time to describe it's strangeness so would leave it for now :).


The most fascinating person I’ve ever met is…

The most fascinating person I have ever met is my grandmother.